Basic Sourdough Bread

My sourdough starter took about 10 days to start being active so I finally got to try making sourdough bread and I’m on my 4th try now. Results have been great but yet to achieve the “ear” and “belly” so more trials soon!

1E48093E-8445-4F08-8FD4-97AB7E7FCB0B

For my 4th sourdough bread, I adapted Jeannie Tay’s recipe but made some changes to the ingredients and method.

  • 300g bread flour
  • 120g liquid starter at peak
  • 210g water
  • 6g salt
  • Some olive oil
  1. Mix bread flour and water until a dough forms. Autolyse at room temperature for 1/2 hour.
  2. Incorporate start into dough until well combined. Rest dough for 1/2 hour.
  3. Mix in salt (diluted with 1tsp water).
  4. Grease a container with some olive oil and place the dough inside. Do a stretch & fold (S&F) to tidy dough.
  5. Every 1/2 hour, repeat S&F for 2 – 3 times.
  6. After bulk fermentation of about 3 – 3.5 hours, proceed to shape dough.
  7. Tip dough out of the container on a lightly floured counter-top and shape.
  8. Transfer dough to a floured banneton and do a final proof on counter-top for about 50 minutes until dough is ready.
  9. Preheat oven at 250C. Freeze dough for 1/2 hour.
  10. Tip dough out of banneton onto a parchment paper. Score and load into a dutch oven.
  11. Bake in dutch oven at 250C for 20 minutes covered and 230C for 15-20 minutes uncovered.
  12. Transfer to rack to cool completely before slicing.

Notes:

  1. I don’t have a banneton so I used a metal bowl, lined with linen cloth. Flour generously with rice flour so dough doesn’t stick.
  2. I don’t have a dutch oven so I used a glass baking dish with cover (refer to picture). You can also use a pizza/baking stone.

Leave a comment